Last night, the plan was that this morning, Jason and I would meet our friend Jorge for a ride to USIL’s campus. I’m working on getting my paperwork processed – which is a bit crazy here – and Jason was coming with me because he’s a bloody humanitarian and good friend. Most people in HR don’t speak English, and I don’t speak Spanish, so Jason was going to translate for me.

Jason woke up with a migraine this morning. He drew me a little map of where I needed to meet up with Jorge, and even wrote down what I should say to the cab driver to get me to the place where I should meet Jorge. He did all this while barely able to keep his eyes open. I know migraines. They’re evil. Jason pushed through his to help me. Melanie also helped me by calling Jorge to let him know it would just be me and that there would probably be some lost-looking blonde on Benavides waiting for him.

Needless to say, I was pretty freaked out this morning. But I wasn’t going to cancel my meeting with HR because I need money, pronto. Plus, like my subject header says, I need to put on my big girl pants. I hailed a cab, told the cab driver where I was heading, and got in. Near our destination (mind you, I had NO idea where I was headed. Jason’s map was good, but it wasn’t like, an amazing portrait of the streets of Lima) the cab driver started asking me questions about where I wanted to be dropped off. I didn’t understand a damn word. Luckily, Jason also told me how to tell the driver that I needed to go over the bridge, and I remembered how to say “Here is fine, thank you.” I got out, paid the driver, and went to wait for Jorge.

I went to the wrong spot. Thankfully, Jason lent me his cell phone (I desperately need to get one, but I can’t right now because of funding issues) and Mel called me to tell me that Jorge had called her to ask her to let me know that traffic was slow. Jorge found me and we rode to school. When we got there, he bought me a coffee and showed me around a bit, and made sure that Hans (he works for CAE and is awesome) would take me to HR because of the lack of communication skills I have. Big ups to Jorge.

So I met with HR, Hans translated for me, and I have to come back tomorrow at 8am to get the paperwork ball rolling. I have to be here at 8 because the line will get very long very quickly. The way Hans explained the process to me, and Jason did as well, is that I have to get permission to be able to sign contracts. They’ll stamp something on my passport, and then a few days after that I can sign my official contract. In the meantime, they’re working on getting me my moving expenses.

Eventually I will have to open a bank account here, but they should be able to transfer money to my US account. Should be. I won’t get my work visa for a few months, it seems.

After the meeting with HR I walked a couple of blocks down to the store and bought myself something to drink. I’ll be on campus until at least six, when Jorge leaves. He’s offered me a ride home. I can take a cab if I want to leave sooner, but it’s expensive(ish), and I have a ton of work to do anyway. This will keep me working.

It’s frustrating, not being able to communicate. I’m not the most outgoing person when it comes to people I don’t know anyway, so to be shy and not speak the language is a little overwhelming at times. But I’m trying to be better about it all. I’m going to go to a Spanish tutor, as well. He’s Mel’s tutor and she really likes him, but, like everything else, it has to wait until I start getting paid. Or until I get my moving money. I have some money and I’ve been able to access my account at an ATM, but eventually I’m sure they’ll put a hold on my card, as they don’t let you just call them and tell them, “Hey, I’m Peru, don’t cut me off, brah!” I have to wait until it’s declined, then call some number collect and then tell them. It’s insane. So I’m trying not to visit the ATM too often, as I’m never sure when they’ll lower the hammer. And since my phone doesn’t work, it won’t be very easy to just call the out-of-country number the bank gave me.

So, yeah. Frustrating. I’m trying not to let it overwhelm me too much. And Mel and Jason have been so helpful. Also, Jorge listens to really good music, so that helps with the commute. Oh, and don’t even get me started on driving in Lima. I mean, I don’t drive in Lima, but riding in a vehicle in Lima is crazy.

This was a long post. Wow.

Oh, and one last thing: my boxes of books have yet to arrive. It’s been nearly 4 weeks since I shipped them. Mel told me last night that the post office here is striking. Awesome.

 

 

About Jillian

Professor, idealist, hopeless romantic, maker of mixes. I routinely fall in love with songs, films, books, television shows, and podcasts. If you want, you can follow me on twitter. I'm @jillian_leslie .

4 responses »

  1. Nancee says:

    This is all so scary! I get worried when I have to go to another state! It look to me like your doing great.

  2. RedandGonzo says:

    Think of it this way: look at all the things you accomplish with such little grasp of the language. And I promise you, it does get better. You will still have days of utter frustration, panic and hell, but they get fewer and farther between. And when it’s all said and done, you took a RISK, a huge risk, and it will be one adventure to write home about.

Leave a comment